Diversity & Inclusivity

President’s Commission on Diversity and Inclusivity

In early 2015, Emmanuel College President Sister Janet Eisner, SND expanded the President's Panel Supporting a Diverse and Inclusive Community to form a new President's Commission on Diversity and Inclusivity, made up of faculty, students, staff and administration. The role of this commission is to address issues of discrimination through college-wide trainings, campus discussions about race, multicultural programs and services responsive to the needs of students from diverse backgrounds.

This commission is guided by the values of the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur, the College's mission, the Catholic intellectual tradition, and the social teachings of the Catholic Church, and affirm "that every person is precious, that people are more important than things, and that the measure of every institution is whether it threatens or enhances the life and dignity of the human person." (United States Conference of Bishops

Messages from the President

Read updates from President Sr. Janet Eisner, SND regarding the progress of the President's Commission and other campus-wide events that support a diverse and inclusive community.


Commission Members
Erin Farmer Noonan, Director of Human Resources (Chair)
Dr. Patricia Rissmeyer, Vice President of Student Affairs
Dr. William Leonard, Vice President of Academic Affairs
Jeff Smith, Director of Multicultural Programs
Dorice Griffith '92, Academic Advisor/ecPULSE Coordinator
Jamahl Jackson, Assistant Director of Athletics & Head Men's Basketball Coach
Dr. Kelly McGuire, Associate Professor of English
Dr. Clare Mehta, Assistant Professor of Psychology
Dr. Jaime Vidaurrazaga, Assistant Professor of Theology & Religious Studies
Laurie Paul '16
Ashlee Jeannot '17

Steering Committee Documents:
2010 Statement on Emmanuel College Supporting a Diverse and Inclusive Community
2010 Memo - Supporting a Diverse and Inclusive Community
Steering Committee Annual Report 2010-2011
Steering Committee Annual Report 2011-2012
Steering Committee Annual Report 2012-2013

Student Advisory Committee
The work of the Commission is supported by a Student Advisory Committee for Multicultural Programs, advised by staff from Student Affairs and Human Resources and comprised of the following students:
Adebukola Ajao '16
Cherokee Belval '17
Ashlee Jeannot '17
Miller Penaflor '16
Jonathan Rowe '18
Madison Soares '18
Gabriela Taveras '17
Samantha Tingue '18
Ashly Uss '17
Devon Wright '17