Academic Calendar

Fall 2018
New Student Move-In and Welcome Day September 2 (Sunday)
Labor Day September 3 (Monday)
Classes begin September 5 (Wednesday)
Last day to add a course September 13 (Thursday)
December 2018 degree applications due September 17 (Monday)
Last day to drop a course (w/o "W" grade) September 20 (Thursday)
P/F, audit declaration deadline, SP and SU '18 "I" grades due October 1 (Monday)
Columbus Day - All classes cancelled October 8 (Monday)
Mid-semester grades due October 19 (Friday)
Veteran's Day Observed- All classes cancelled (make-up required) * November 12 (Monday)
Last day to withdraw from a course (w/"W" grade) November 13 (Tuesday)
Thanksgiving Break November 21-23 (Wednesday - Friday)
Last day of classes December 11 (Tuesday)
Reading Day December 12 (Wednesday)
Final Exam Period December 13, 14, 15, 17 (Thursday -Monday)
Final grades due December 19 10:00 AM (Wednesday)
Spring 2019
New Student Orientation  January 14 & 15 (Monday and Tuesday)
Classes begin January 16 (Wednesday)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - All classes cancelled January 21 (Monday)
Last day to add a course January 24 (Thursday)
Last day to drop a course (w/o "W" grade) January 31 (Thursday)
FA '18 "INC" grades due February 1 (Friday)
P/F, audit declaration due February 15 (Friday)
May 2019 degree applications due  February 15 (Friday)
Presidents Day - A&S classes cancelled; Graduate and Professional Programs classes meet February 18 (Monday)
Mid-semester grades due March 1 (Friday)
Arts and Sciences Spring Break March 4-8 (Monday - Friday)
Last day to withdraw from a course (w/ "W" grade) April 10 (Wednesday)
Patriots Day - All classes cancelled  April 15 (Monday)
Holy Thursday - Classes after 4:15pm cancelled (make-up required) ** April 18 (Thursday)
Good Friday - All classes cancelled (make-up required) *** April 19 (Friday)
Easter Monday - All classes cancelled April 22 (Monday)
Senior Distinction Day -- A&S day classes cancelled; A&S evening and Graduate and Professional Programs classes meet April 25 (Thursday)
Last day of classes April 30 (Tuesday)
Reading Day May 1 (Wednesday)
Final Exam Period May 2, 3, 4, 6 (Thursday - Monday)
Final grades due May 8 10:00 AM (Wednesday)
Baccalaureate May 10 (Friday)
Commencement May 11 (Saturday)

* Make-up for Arts and Science evening classes scheduled from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. on Veterans Day will take place on Friday, November 14 from 3:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
** Make-up for Arts and Science evening classes scheduled from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. on Holy Thursday will take place on Friday, April 12 from 3:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. 
*** Make-up for Arts and Science classes scheduled to meet from 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. on Good Friday will take place on Friday, April 26 from 3:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Graduate and Professional Programs Academic Calendar

Summer 2018
Summer I classes begin (face-to-face and online) May 14 (Monday)
Memorial Day May 28 (Monday)
Registration opens for Fall 2018 (seven week sessions) June 11 (Monday)
Last day of Summer I Classes July 1 (Sunday)
Summer II Classes begin (face-to-face and online) July 9 (Monday)
Last day of Summer II Classes August 26 (Sunday)

 

Fall 2018
Fall I classes begin (face-to-face and online) September 4 (Tuesday)
December 2018 degree applications due September 14 (Friday)
Columbus Day-Graduate & Professional Programs classes held October 8 (Monday)
Registration opens for Spring 2019 (seven week sessions)  October 9 (Tuesday)
Last day of Fall I classes October 21 (Sunday)
Fall II Classes begin (face-to-face) *Tuesday classes begin October 30 October 24 (Wednesday)
Fall II Classes begin (online) October 29 (Monday)
Veteran's Day Observed-Graduate & Professional Programs classes held November 12 (Monday)
Thanksgiving Break (no classes) November 21-25(Wednesday-Sunday)
Last day of Fall II classes December 16 (Sunday)

 

 

Spring 2019
Spring I classes begin (face-to-face and online) January 7 (Monday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no classes) January 21 (Monday)
President's Day-Graduate & Professional Programs classes held February 18 (Monday)
May 2019 degree applications due February 15 (Friday)
Last day of Spring I classes February 24 (Sunday)
Spring II classes begin (Face-to-Face) * Tues. classes begin March 12; Wed. classes begin March 13 March 7 (Thursday)
Spring II classes begin (online) March 11 (Monday)
Registration opens for Summer 2019 (seven week sessions) March 25 (Monday)
Patriot's Day (no classes) April 15 (Monday)
Holy Thursday (no classes) April 18 (Thursday)
Easter Weekend (no classes) April 19-April 22 (Friday-Monday)
Last day of Spring II classes April 28 (Sunday)
Commencement May 11 (Saturday)

 

 

Explore Emmanuel

The Longwood Medical and Academic Area (LMA)

In a city known for innovation in healthcare, opportunities for Emmanuel students are bolstered by our location within the world-renowned Longwood Medical and Academic Area (LMA). With walking-distance access to cutting-edge scientific and medical institutions, ours is a neighborhood that stands hand-in-hand with the future.

Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
Jolie Erlacher ’19 Finds Purpose Counseling Those in Need

As early as her second year at Emmanuel College, Jolie Erlacher '19 discovered the power of networking, seeing firsthand how the connections she has made at Emmanuel-and then beyond-have affected the course of her academic and career trajectory, each opportunity opening a door to the next.

Learn More
Featured Faculty: Rebecca Moryl

Dr. Rebecca Moryl is an Associate Professor of Economics at Emmanuel College. Professor Moryl teaches on subjects including microeconomics, economic relations, the politics of international economic relations and urban economics. She believes that understanding economics is critical to understanding the worlds-big and small-in which we live.

Learn More
Featured Faculty: Aren Gerdon

Professor Aren Gerdon is the Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Physics and an Associate Professor of Chemistry at Emmanuel College. He leads his own chemistry research group, focusing on biomaterials, and works closely with other research groups across campus. Professor Gerdon is passionate about sharing his deep knowledge of chemistry with his students, guiding them from class work to practical, real-world lab experiments.

Learn More
Featured Faculty: Petros Vamvakas

Petros Vamvakas is an Associate Professor of Political Science and Chair of the Latin American Studies, Middle East Studies and Peace Studies Programs. His work focuses on security and democratization, as well as issues related to identity and race in politics throughout the Americas. As part of his teaching, he has escorted groups of students to Crete, Greece, and will be bringing a group of students to Cuba.

Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
Learn More
MSN in Nursing Management Opens Doors for Edward

After more than a decade as an RN at New England Baptist Hospital, Castella Edward MSN '16 decided take the next step in her career, building upon experience to enhance her daily practice, take a more active role in policy review and more.

Learn More

Let's Get Started.

Emmanuel is a place where students broaden their sense of what’s possible and prepare for inspiring careers in an ever-changing world. Be here.